Our Leaders

Mohamed Nasheed

President of MDP

Mohamed Nasheed was the Maldives’ first democratically elected president (2008-2012). He remains a figurehead for the promotion of human rights and democracy, and an international icon for action against climate change.

President Nasheed was elected the President of the Maldivian Democratic Party in August 2014.

Mohamed Shifaz

Vice President of MDP

Mohamed Shifaz is the Vice President of MDP. He was the Member of Parliament for Baarshu Constituency (2009-2014).

He was elected the Vice President of MDP in August 2014.

MP Ibrahim Mohamed Solih (Ibu) has served as the MP for Hinnavaru since 1995. As one of the country’s most senior and experience politicians, MP Ibu played a leading role in the formation of the MDP and the national reform movement, as part of the Special Majlis that drafted the new Constitution.

Hassan Latheef


Hasan Latheef is the Chairperson of the Maldivian Democratic Party. He is a lawyer by profession. Hasan Latheef was the Minister of Human Resources, Youth & Sports (2008-2012).

Ahmed Abdulla

Deputy Chairperson

Ali Niyaz

Deputy Chairperson

Anas Abdul Sattar

Secretary General

Anas Abdul Sattar was appointed by the National Council in February 2015. He is a lawyer by profession.